Just Like Everybody Else?

​I recently had an interesting conversation with my brother-in-law. He lives about 6 hours away so I see him only on occasion, but we sometimes have some pretty good conversations concerning our country and our corrupt government. We’re usually in agreement even though he mostly sounds like he’s quoting Fox News’ talking points. He never wants to talk about the true source of our problems, which is that we are living in the last days and the final moments of human history just before our Lord returns to take His bride home. It’s not that he doesn’t believe it, but rather he doesn’t really want to face it, and he definitely isn’t looking forward to it. 

That being said, let me make my point about our recent conversation. I was attempting to tell him about some of the things the pope is doing, and how it is rapidly leading toward the formation of the one world church. I was trying to make the point that the leadership of the Catholic Church was responsible for this, while most of the well-meaning congregants were oblivious, with even the majority of them not actually following their own religion, but rather being completely carnal and secular. That’s when my brother-in-law made the most profound statement, in the most matter of fact way: he said “just like everybody else.” I most definitely perceived his statement to be a big “so what?” He was implying “just like every other professing Christian, so what’s your point?” He basically said that’s not a big deal, that’s how we all live. My abrupt and automatic response to him was “it’s a narrow road.”

That was the end of the conversation, but it’s been kind of stuck in my craw every since. Our conversation was really the essence of what’s the matter with the church of today. Truth was spoken to him, and it was soundly dismissed. This is the true state of the church today. They are just fine where they are and are in need of nothing, not seeing that they are blind, naked, and wretched. They will not heed the warnings. They are in bed with the world and they love it. They know and trust in their hearts that God is happy with them right where they are and there is no such need to repent or to bend their knee before God.

My takeaway from this is that the Lord is yet again, calling His people to separate themselves and come out from among the world and the false brethren. Time is very short and the days are increasingly evil and full of deception. The message is for us to make sure we’re not “just like everybody else.”

The day after this conversation took place, I had part of a verse  that came to me. I couldn’t get the phrase, “hating even the garment spotted by the flesh” out of my mind. As I looked it up, it seemed to be very apropos  in light of the conversation I had. I’ll leave you with the verse.

MARANATHA!
Watchman73

17 But, beloved, remember ye the words which were spoken before of the apostles of our Lord Jesus Christ;

18 How that they told you there should be mockers in the last time, who should walk after their own ungodly lusts.

19 These be they who separate themselves, sensual, having not the Spirit.

20 But ye, beloved, building up yourselves on your most holy faith, praying in the Holy Ghost,

21 Keep yourselves in the love of God, looking for the mercy of our Lord Jesus Christ unto eternal life.

22 And of some have compassion, making a difference:

23 And others save with fear, pulling them out of the fire; hating even the garment spotted by the flesh.

24 Now unto him that is able to keep you from falling, and to present you faultless before the presence of his glory with exceeding joy,

25 To the only wise God our Saviour, be glory and majesty, dominion and power, both now and ever. Amen.

Jude 1: 17-25 (KJV)

5 thoughts on “Just Like Everybody Else?

  1. Yes! Thank you for sharing this with us. “I am full of words, and the Spirit inside me compels me; inside I am like bottled up wine, like new wineskins ready to burst. I must speak and find relief…” (Job 32:18-29). WAKE UP, CHURCH! Choose wisely to deny self and put Christ foremost NOW or be left behind and suffer literal martyrdom during the tribulation! Our Bridegroom is coming, and only the wise virgins with sufficient oil – intimacy with the Lord and dependency on the Holy Spirit – will be caught up to Christ in the clouds! The unwise virgins must endure the tribulation, for the Bridegroom will say, “I don’t know you.” (Matt. 25:12).

  2. Melissa

    “Just like everyone else.” I’ve heard that before also. You nailed it! Thanks for all you do to keep us informed. Keep your armor on. Ephesians 6: 10-18

Leave a Reply

